Skip to content

A few must-know labour laws for employees in the UAE

January 9, 2008
by

With the United Arab Emirates having the status of a popular choice for exploring job opportunities, especially in the Third World countries, there are some labour laws that existing and prospective employees in the country should know. Here’s an overview:

• Federal Labour Law, Article 74 and Article 81: There are some official cheap holidays every employee is entitled to (with full wage). These are:

o One holiday on New Year Day as per the Gregorian calendar
o One holiday on New Year Day as per the Islamic calendar
o Two holidays on Eid Al Fitr
o Three holidays on Eid Al Adha and Arafat Day
o One holiday on the National Day
o One holiday on the Israawal Meraj
o One holiday on Prophet Mohammed’s birthday

If work circumstances compel an employee to work full time or part time on official holidays, s/he must be compensated with a leave and a compensatory extra 50 percent of the full wage. In the event of non-compliance with this rule, the employee will be paid 150 percent of the basic wage for the work days.

• Federal Labour Law, Article 83: During the probation period, an employee is not entitled to a paid sick leave. After the end of the probation period, if an employee falls ill on completion of more than three months in continuous service, s/he is entitled to continuous or interrupted 90 days’ leave per year.

The salary for the paid sick leave will be calculated on the following basis:

o First 15 days: full wage
o Next 30 days: half wage
o Following period: no pay

63 Comments leave one →
  1. Dr Shaun Dent permalink
    May 6, 2008 6:57 am

    Could you direct me to the section of the labour law which refers too the camp site requirements please, also any other links to the federal laws please

    Regards

    Dr Shaun Dent

    • mohamed permalink
      September 7, 2009 7:09 pm

      dear sir,
      im working as a house driver morthan 4 years just i want to know i cant get any lon from the banking what is the polcy for that?

  2. omar permalink
    May 12, 2008 4:27 pm

    im an xpatriate from a certain country working with a certain comp as a security officer,recently i read that any contract signed outside uae is invalid and in my case i signed outside uae promised to sign another one here.but down five months nothing is forthcoming,im i being xploited?please advise.

  3. Novie permalink
    June 4, 2008 12:56 pm

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    Im working in my company for four months.I want to resign? Should I pay for the company? They will put me a ban?

    Thank you very

  4. joshua permalink
    July 13, 2008 11:03 am

    please send me updates on wage increase & employement ban

    thanks,

  5. jitendra permalink
    August 9, 2008 12:18 pm

    i have dubai work permit m presently working in jebel ali free zone but my visa is not of jebel ali but it is of dubai.if my employer wants to send me back to india how much compensation shall i get and how to calculate it.I m working from 15th january 2007 upto today that is August 9th 2008.

  6. john permalink
    August 14, 2008 5:58 am

    I am working in an Engneering Consultancy company for almost 3 years.My contract is unlimited but there’s a restriction at the end of the contract that I should work for them not less than 4 years which implicate that my contract is limited. Is it legal to have somthing like that in a contract?

  7. MUJEEBRAHMAN.K.H permalink
    August 26, 2008 6:02 am

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    Im working in my company for four months.I want to resign? Should I pay for the company? They will put me a ban?

    Thank you very

  8. Md.fasiurrahman permalink
    September 24, 2008 5:25 am

    sir im working in a software company im still under probation period due to problems in my home i want to quit the company i had given my resignation to the company on 07th septemebr 2008,thay said my last working day is 30th september 2008.after that they will start my visa cancellation prosses thay said it will take 2 or 3 weeks to compliate visa cancellation process and they are not giving me accomidation or money to stay here and thay had deducted last one month salary they havent pay me my airfare from my home station to work station (i.e india to dubai) please help in knowing what should i do i request you please give me reply as soon as possiable
    thanking you

  9. Dexter permalink
    October 6, 2008 12:18 pm

    Sallam!

    I’m working for the private company for 1 year and 5 months now. I just want to know I i’ll be ban or what are the circumtances if I will resign? Do I need to pay for something? What shall I do? Please help.

  10. Glenn permalink
    October 18, 2008 6:45 pm

    It is sad to note the fact that employers in uae take advantage of their employees’,by dictating or limiting their career development or anchoring them down with the help of the labour red tape.Basic human rights is violated and all the government does is sit and watch the whole community talk to a wall, no substantial action is taken by the labour dept to look into issues like this.threatening the employee with labour ban etc is uncalled for, rather bias towards the employer.Conclusion, the uae government regulates unhealthy work and family life and everything else is superficial.The labour department should infact formalize a method to ensure that each firm in uae has a proper Human Resource Dept to report on a monthly basis cases and evaluation on employers efforts to ensure a healthy organization is maintained for employees.In short, introduce a labour hr inspector for each firm, to attend to employers/employees issues.As usual, my statement above will fall on deaf ears.

  11. husain permalink
    November 12, 2008 10:29 am

    i am working here in dubai for a llc company, i have still not stamped my visa, can i leave the country without it, & will i get a ban, & if i want to join other company if there is a ban , wats the procedure, plz advice

  12. zaheer permalink
    November 16, 2008 10:19 am

    Assaalm,

    Sir i’m working in a company from the last two months, on service visa of 90 days, but i want to resign the job, is there any chances for getting ban on me, if so, how long will be the ban, please give me the right opinion.thank u

  13. November 19, 2008 10:32 am

    Its Bakrid! Come and celebrate with us on the auspicious Occasion of Bakrid .Send

    these Happy Bakrid Greeting Cards to your friends and relatives and wishthem all

    delightful and wonderful Bakrid . Send Free Online Invitation and Greeting Cards to

    your friends & loved ones. ALL cards are absolutely. FREE!!!
    Happy Bakrid

    http://desievite.com/

  14. November 20, 2008 8:09 am

    may i know some contact person where i could consult my problems with. It involves my work and my employer. I really someone who could help me about the labor law and what it could do to help employees from the cruel and unlawful acts of our employer. thank you…

    • najmi permalink
      June 21, 2009 4:23 am

      I am a lawyer , you can send your problem to me.
      najmi agha
      attorney & legal consultant

      • ABDUL ROUF permalink
        June 26, 2009 5:09 pm

        Assalam Alaikum,

        Am a MBA graduate, working here in Dubai from past 14 months. Am not satisfied with my present job it terms of fincial grpowth and proffesional growth. Can u please help me out to know the UAE Labour Law for post Graduate. What i can do ?

      • jaki permalink
        July 1, 2009 10:32 am

        Sir/Madam
        i am working in a company since 9months, the last 4 months the employer didnt pay the salary.i asked him atlist one month salary to live here and he didnt gave. after my relatives and friends help me to live.now the employer told me to sign the resignation paper. i never agree that. now he give the 3month notice thatswhy i am not receive that notice.he told to me never give any other banifits. My visa is limited visa. Pls help me to what i want to do and expecting your replay.
        Regards,
        Jaki

      • eupdate permalink*
        July 23, 2009 12:09 pm

        Hi .
        I am sorry for the delay in replyiong. I came across an informative link, just thought that it might be of some help to you all .
        Please go through : http://www.jobys.wordpress.com
        Thanks

      • evangiline baldon permalink
        July 6, 2009 8:25 pm

        hi gud evening i just want to ask if i should to pay for the medical,insurance, and stamping for my visa i am working in company as a sale. my salary is only litle, and what about the over time. 1 hour free. no day off. what can i do? every day work 10 hours. pls give me reply.

      • Merina Paul permalink
        August 19, 2009 4:54 am

        Hi, My husband is working in a private company since Nov, 2000. He has renewed his visa 3 times in the same company and this november 2009 will be his 4th renewal. I would like to know before this period if he gets a new job will there be any ban? His present employer will not give him NOC so in that case will it be impossible to clear the ban and if not will my daughter and i have to go back to our home country? Is there any option that we can continue staying here and get the visa changed? what are the procedures kindly write to me. Your valued time taken to reply to my mail will be higly appreciated.

        Awaiting your reply at the earliest.

        Merina.

      • eupdate permalink*
        August 20, 2009 9:03 am

        Hi Merina.. and all..
        Let me first apologise for not being able to reply for a long time to this particular article.
        I am a blogger and write blogs about subjects that seem important for a living in the United Arab Emirates. I feel extremely sorry for the troublesome issues that my readers are facing with their employers in the UAE and feel very sad on at the current scenario..
        I will keep posting some information that could possibly help you all in some way or the other, however i feel helpless to provide some professional help.
        I request you all to be strong and righteous in whatever you believe and do.
        This link might be of some help to you:
        http://www.zu.ac.ae/library/html/UAEInfo/documents/UAELabourLaw.pdf

      • eupdate permalink*
        August 20, 2009 9:06 am

        This link might also help : http://www.citehr.com/98605-uae-labour-law-6.html

      • Mubeen permalink
        October 12, 2009 7:16 pm

        Dear Najmi,

        Greeting of the day

        my issue is that,after 7 months in the company i want to resign from my job,managers have accepted my resignation.but our headoffice people in Muscat are telling to pay the visa and others charges or they wont relieve me.but nowhere in my contract it is mentioned.Only 30 days notice period is mentioned which i am doing..Plz advice,what step do i need to take.
        Thnx in advance

  15. Arbaz Abdullah permalink
    November 27, 2008 7:50 am

    Sir,
    I am a civil engineer and working with a company in sharja. I want to know that after one year of work with a company can an engineer change the job without 6 month ban or not. Because i have heared that the the engineers are not banned wether they have NOC or not to change the job.Pls inform me about this.

    • Sanjana permalink
      July 4, 2009 11:32 am

      Hello, my case is exactly like yours. I am working as an engineer for past one year, on my father’s visa on an unlimited contract. Now I want to change my job but my company is not ready to give me NOC. Will I get a 6 month labor ban? If yes, how can the ban be lifted? Your question was sent in November last year and I am sure now you have a answer to it. Please let me know, would really appreciate it.

      • eupdate permalink*
        July 23, 2009 12:09 pm

        Hi .
        I am sorry for the delay in replying. I came across an informative link, just thought that it might be of some help to you all .
        Please go through : http://www.jobys.wordpress.com

        I would keep looking for some more information for you.
        Thanks

  16. rayan permalink
    December 1, 2008 4:25 am

    i am working in constration company more than 3 years now.4 months before only my new visa stamp i have some proplem in my family thatsy i want cancel my visa then how much i can get from company or i want pay company
    regadrs
    rayan

  17. December 20, 2008 9:53 pm

    The labour laws here are one of the most dangerous and specially after recent announcements that the property owners cannot get any residense visa, its quite scary

  18. January 4, 2009 6:44 pm

    it is sad that i have something fills in my head becouse it is operated and my employer not helping me to go in hospital so now i have two months working in her buseness and i realize that i need to resign for the sake of my health… And now my salary for one 1 month did not give my employer because he said that he buy ticket for me and after that all of the sudden no ticket will go on.can you help how to fix this problem? i just want to my rights THANKS…..

  19. January 4, 2009 6:45 pm

    it is sad that i have something fills in my head becouse it is operated and my employer not helping me to go in hospital so now i have two months working in her buseness and i realize that i need to resign for the sake of my health… And now my salary for one 1 month did not give my employer because he said that he buy ticket for me and after that all of the sudden no ticket will go on.can you help how to fix this problem? i just want to know my rights THANKS…..

  20. January 4, 2009 6:54 pm

    can ministry of labour help to fix my problem beside im not local citizen her in uae only a fillipino workers.

  21. Bilal permalink
    January 20, 2009 4:39 pm

    Salam!

    I am working since June 05, 2007 with a private company in Human Resources, I have a MBA Degree but on my Labor Card the designation is DEneral Accountant, So If I will resign. Is their any ban if so Can i remove it to pay some legal fee! & Company can cancel my visa at the time of resignation acceptance or at on last day of working! Please help me out in these two queries.

    Kind Regards

    Bilal

  22. Chris permalink
    January 25, 2009 4:24 pm

    I am working in private company for 1 year and 2 months now. I am holding labour visa card, and unlimited contract. My present company dont give NOC letter. I want to resign and transfer to new company. I just want to know. I will be ban? And what are the circumstances if I will resign? Do I need to pay for something? What shall I do?
    Please advise. Thank you.

  23. amanda permalink
    January 31, 2009 11:25 am

    my friend have a big problem with the company she’s working, they are delayed salary for almost 4 months this coming feb and she’s working in rak free zone , she don’t know what’s the right being employed in rak free zone? is this normal in this country or area of delaying salaries, and do the workers have the right to complaint to the ministry of labour? please

    • eupdate permalink*
      August 20, 2009 9:10 am

      Hi all..
      Let me first apologise for not being able to reply for a long time to this particular article.
      I am a blogger and write blogs about subjects that seem important for a living in the United Arab Emirates. I feel extremely sorry for the troublesome issues that my readers are facing with their employers in the UAE and feel very sad on at the current scenario..
      I will keep posting some information that could possibly help you all in some way or the other, however i feel helpless to provide some professional help.
      I request you all to be strong and righteous in whatever you believe and do.
      This link might be of some help to you:
      http://www.zu.ac.ae/library/html/UAEInfo/documents/UAELabourLaw.pdf

  24. Pauline permalink
    February 8, 2009 6:45 am

    hi, please see below memo send to us by our employer, please notify me if this is allowed by the labour law of UAE.

    07 February 2009
    C I R C U L A R

    To All Staff

    Subject: Medical and Casual Leave

    Once again I give below the medical leave requirement as per labor and company rule.

    If any employee deviates from the same, he/she will lose salary for that day.

    When an employee becomes sick, he/she should immediately contact his superior and the administration with a medical request. Based on the medical request the employee meets the doctor. Doctor must specify in his report that the employee is given medical leave. Just going to the doctor will not allow an employee to get medical leave. In case the doctor does not give medical leave, employee must come back to work on the same day otherwise he/she will lose salary for the day.

    Employees who are staying with the family maybe allowed casual leave for emergency domestic purpose provided prior written permission is obtained from immediate superior and administration and the leave will be adjusted against annual leave.

    If any employee deviates from the above will lose salary for the days he/she is absent from work.

    With best regards,

    (Name not disclosed)
    Managing Director

    =Please let me know if this is reasonable.-Thanks=

  25. February 11, 2009 10:27 am

    I am working as a Sr. HR Officer, I got a question on a Law issue,

    One of our employee had gone on leave and came [31st] back on Saturday and he joined us on Saturday the first working day of the week.

    But his leave is approved upto the previous tursday [29th].

    That means that he had returned on 30th and he is claiming the salary for Friday

    Can we pay him or not

    Explain me and point out the proof.

    Dilshad

    • July 11, 2009 6:36 am

      kindli give a repply

      • eupdate permalink*
        July 23, 2009 12:08 pm

        Hi .
        I am sorry for the delay in replyiong. I came across an informative link, just thought that it might be of some help to you all .
        Please go through : http://www.jobys.wordpress.com

        I would keep looking for some more information for you.
        Thanks

  26. February 11, 2009 5:08 pm

    Sir if i get another opportunity within few months of visa stamping can i change the current visa. what if my employer dont allow me to change?

    If i want a cancell for my visa will i get a ban?

  27. Faith permalink
    February 17, 2009 6:42 am

    I am working for the same company for almost 2 years and 2 months. After my first year in the company, i was re instated to a higher position and was given a new salary package. Now, i am to take my annual leave and was upset by the computation of my leave. They calculated my pay according to my old contract. and the accomodation allowance is not even mentioned. I like to consult to which package my leave should be calculated…. to the contract i signed before joining the company or to the new package offer they give me when i got re-instated. please advice…..

  28. manny permalink
    March 4, 2009 6:37 pm

    My company in Dubai is not giving us a holiday break and no extra compensation. They are telling us to go to work like a regular working days or cut our salary for 2 days. Just want to know how can we get our right to have a break during holiday like other workers have.

  29. James permalink
    March 13, 2009 3:10 pm

    Iwas working for company named Etoile Group it is under Chalhoub Company and I have finshed 3 years with them so finaly I had to recieve my salary and end of service from the company but Etoile is not willling me to pay my salary and even I have not got my passport form them.They are telling me to sign the paper which says that I have recieved my money othervice I will not get my passport from them. What should I do in this case if company is doing like this?

  30. March 15, 2009 8:18 am

    Dear Sir/ Madam,

    Good day!

    Now im working in a private company. I’m finishing my contract this coming June 2009. Im thinking not to renew my contract. Do i get a 6 months ban from the labour? please help me out of this because i dont know what to do. thank you so much

  31. April 1, 2009 9:18 pm

    THERE IS NO SUCH LABOR LAW IN UAE,,,THAT,S FACT,,,,I WORKED 4 YEARS FOR VERY BIG COMPANY IN ABU DHABI OWNED BY ONE OF THE BIG SHAKKS ,,,ONE DAY I CAME TO WORK THEY TILL ME YOU ARE FIRED WITHOUT ANY REASON AT ALL EVEN THAT I RECEIVED AN APPRECIATION LATTER LAST MONTH AND I WAS THE EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH, SO WHEN I WENT TO COURT FOR MY FINANCIAL RIGHTS AND GAVE THEM MY CASE THE COMPANY WENT TO IMMIGRATION AND ISSUE A LATTER THAT I WAS RUNNING FROM MY SPONSOR WHICH IS THE COMPANY IN THE SAME DAY OF THE FIRST SESSION IN THE COURT,,, AND DID NOT ALLOW ME TO WORK OR LEAVE TO MY COUNTRY FOR LONG TIME UNTIL I RAN OUT OF MONEY THEN I HAVE TO GAVE UP MY RIGHT IN THE COURT TO ALLOW ME TO LEAVE UAE WHICH I DID ,,,AND BY THE WAY MY FINANCIAL RIGHTS ACCORDING TO UAE LABOUR LAW ABOUT ONE MILLION DH.

  32. farhan ali permalink
    April 5, 2009 8:32 am

    dear sir,
    i m working in ahotel in sharjah i want 2 resign after one year but i m in under contract of 2 year if i want to can i pay full amount of visa after 1 year plz tell me i m very tense thanks GOD blees u all time farhan ali

  33. April 8, 2009 7:38 pm

    sir i have been terminated after working 8 months for the company now i want to know will there be ban if open by own business still there will be some lobour fees.
    please advice with some more information for the same

  34. April 8, 2009 7:40 pm

    sir i have been terminated after 8 months i want to know if i can start my own business and is there will be additional labour charges if yes how much
    please provide more information regarding the same

  35. Dany permalink
    June 3, 2009 1:00 pm

    i m working two years in private company & i have unlimited contract. i have call from another company & i like to join there but they need the NOC. my first employer has not provided NOC then what can i do now?
    i will be git a ban? if there is fees for the lifting ban? pls tell me?

  36. eupdate permalink*
    July 3, 2009 5:25 am

    @ Jaki
    Hi . I m sorry to hear about the crisis that you are dealing with your job. That’s very pathetic on the part of your employer. I came across some information about the labor laws and designed this article accordingly, i really dont have much information about this scenario, however i’ll try to search some useful information and post it here. Tough times never lasts, but tough people do. Have faith my friend.

  37. evangiline baldon permalink
    July 6, 2009 8:50 pm

    vanjiee
    Hi im working 3 months in the company still im confusing

  38. Reji permalink
    July 25, 2009 11:46 am

    sir,
    Iam working in a Private company as accountant for the last 2 years my contract is for 2years and my visa is for 3 years , if i want to change the company for a better oppourtunities can u pl advise what is the procedures??? is there any ban will,be there?????
    How can we overcome the ban in case if we want to join other company in one month
    kindly help

  39. Siva S permalink
    July 25, 2009 2:14 pm

    my cousin is working in dubai ,he took 1 day leave due to illness but his manager tell that he will be dismissed ,he is afraiding that his job will loss or not,is it any possiblity to do so..

  40. Yusuf Warsi permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:48 am

    Dear Sir,
    I have been working in a construction company at Abu Dhabi since 1988 and my basic was in starting Dhs.750 and my last basic is Dhs.1140. My company paying my gratuaty as per 750/- only for first 7 years 21 days and after that 30 days. While as per my knowledge last basic should be calculated and 1st 5 years 21 days and after that 30 days. Even they did not paid my leave salary since 10 years during my vacation. Please advice me i ll be really thanks full to u.

    Yusuf Warsi
    Abu Dhabi

  41. mohamed rimsy permalink
    September 1, 2009 3:15 pm

    im working in apparel group in my conrect wich i have been signature with company i have to work only 8 hour but the company posing as to work for 10 hour duty but no exra payment for the exra time also always we are not geting any goverment holydays same time the company is did not pay any payment for the paticulars days and during ramadan time the company give as 10 hours duty its’ must other wise the company will didect from the salary according to uae labour law we have to work only 6 hour even the muslim staff also we are working 10 hours so plese sir just take care about this matter and give as soluation as wel because we loosing our rights as a employee all the staff afraid to complant to the labour dipartment because the company will tarminate the staff that the reason nobody comlain so please sir kindly take care this matter and we hope you will give as the solution aswel and we will get our rights aswel soo as possible.
    thanks& regards”
    mohamed rimsy
    the company website (www.appareluae.com)

  42. October 2, 2009 10:49 am

    hi:
    thanks for your deep concern about the present situation in the UAE

    i just want to know what is happening with the people from tyhe employers
    i ll wait for your post

    thanks

  43. Arun permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:47 pm

    Dear Sir,

    i am working with a company for the last 28 Months and I have resigned from the company.my current employer will not provide me with a NOC.I want to know whether i will be having a ban.If so is it possible that I can come back thru my wife who is eliglble to sponsor me in residence visa.Please give your valuable suggestions

  44. Richard permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:34 am

    I worked as a sales rep for a trading company for the past 9 consecutive years without availing any leave. The main reason is there is no leave salary and airticket provided by the company. Now, my visa and labor card will be expiring very soon and I do not intend to renew the same. Kindly advise me what end of service benefits I should receive as per the law. Apart from this the visa and labour card charges were borne by me everytime. Can I get reimbursement of the same? Please provide me with the proper guidance.

    Thanks and regards,
    Richard.

  45. m.ramzan permalink
    November 3, 2009 8:49 am

    sir.i am working in compnay since 3 years.if now after finishing 3 years agreement with compnay can i get other company visa there will be 6 month ban or not.if i make my own company then there will be 6 month ban or not.plez sir i want to get information.if there will be 6 month ban then what will be solution to remove this 6 month ban.if there is a legal rule for removing 6 month ban plez tell me any solution.
    thanks and regards

  46. KING permalink
    November 29, 2009 7:08 am

    Gentlemen,

    I need a help regarding my work.Our company are not giving us holiday vacation and yet if I work they will not pay me overtime on that said hloiday ,please advice me what to do. Please help me with my problem.thank you.

  47. Tarun permalink
    December 21, 2009 6:08 am

    Hello,

    I am entitled for a leave salary and return tickets to my home country. I was unaware of booking a return ticket at time of my vacation, and so i didnt claimed for my return ticket at time of exit.

    When i joined back company after my vacations, i claimed for my returning ticket’s amount. My HR denied me to reimburse the expenditure.

    please advice me , what can i do in this case.

    Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Dubai Work Permit » A few must-know labour laws for employees in the UAE « emirates update

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

